Skip to main content

Impact of the war in Ukraine on UEF

Text stickers on glass wall.

UEF supports Academy Research Fellow applicants and recruits well-performing applicants to UEF Research Fellow positions

The University of Eastern Finland will use its strategic funding to support applicants to Academy Research Fellow positions in the autumn 2021 call through a number of measures.

The University of Eastern Finland will hire applicants who perform well in the autumn 2021 call for Academy Research Fellow positions to UEF Research Fellow positions in autumn 2022. Researchers who apply for an Academy Research Fellow position in the autumn 2021 call and whose application is scored as 5–6, but who are not granted funding by the Academy of Finland, may apply for a UEF Research Fellow position at the University of Eastern Finland in summer 2022. The university is prepared to allocate strategic funding to a maximum of seven three-year UEF Research Fellows, to be hired as senior researchers.

In addition, the researchers who have secured Academy Research Fellow funding are supported in setting up their own research group. The University of Eastern Finland will finance a three-year doctoral researcher position in Academy Research Fellow projects granted by the Academy of Finland in the 2021 call. The projects will receive annual financial support of 30,000 euros for the years 2023-2025.

Research Services at the University of Eastern Finland provide training for applicants to Academy Research Fellow positions in spring and summer 2021 and give comments on Academy Research Fellow applications. Further information on the training is available from the faculties’ Research Funding Coordinators.

The aim is to strengthen the recruitment of senior-level researchers and their research conditions, as well as to support their career development in establishing their independent research groups. 

For further information, please contact:

Anu Liikanen, Head of Research Development, anu.liikanen@uef.fi, tel. +358 40 723 8551

Research Funding Coordinator of the Philosophical Faculty Milena Fayt, milena.fayt@uef.fi

Research Funding Coordinator of the Faculty of Science and Forestry Hannu Korhonen, hannu.korhonen@uef.fi

Research Funding Coordinator of the Faculty of Health Sciences Maria Rikala, maria.rikala@uef.fi

Research Funding Coordinator of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Business Studies Katri Kostiainen, katri.kostiainen@uef.fi, and Saija Miina, saija.miina@uef.fi