Fees and Scholarships


Amount of annual tuition fee 12,000 EUR
Who needs to pay

Students who are not citizens of EU/EEA countries*.

A generous scholarship scheme which can cover the tuition fee partially is offered to those students who are required to pay tuition.

Payment of the tuition fee

Annual tuition for academic year 2019-2020 will be paid in two instalments

Students accepted in 1 st instalment 2 nd instalment
2019 14.6.2019 30.11.2019

* EU countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Gibraltar.

EEA countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.


An annual Student Union membership fee is charged from all degree-seeking students registered to the University of Eastern Finland. The membership fees for academic year 2019-2020 €126/full year and €65/semester. The fee entitles you to a high standard of health care and student discounts on meals at student restaurants, on train and bus tickets and on leisure time activities.



Who is entitled to Students who are required to pay the tuition fee
How to apply Upon applying for admission to the program (a separate section in an admission form)
Amount of waiver 80% of annual tuition
Number of available waivers Waiver is given to all accepted students who are required to pay for tuition.


The decision about the waiver is made in connection with student admission and the student is notified of the matter in the letter of acceptance. The scholarship is awarded on the basis of the student's academic achievements. The scholarship is personal and it is awarded for two academic years. The scholarship awarded for the second year is however conditional and tied to the progress of the student’s studies.

Please note that there will be no living cost allowance available for IMPIT students admitted in 2020.