UEF Board  

The Board defines the university's central goals and strategy. Furthermore, the Board elects the Rectors of the university.

The Board of the University of Eastern Finland is composed of a total of 10 members, 4 of whom are external members. The term of office of the Board is 1 January 2014–31 December 2017.

Board meetings: 13 December 2017


Board members

Chair of the UEF Board Lea Ryynänen-Karjalainen, DMus, is the Executive Director of the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies and a board member in the Finnish Science Centre Foundation.  Ryynänen-Karjalainen's earlier positions include HRD Director at Cerion Solutions Ltd., Vice Rector at Metropolia University of Applied Sciences, and Development Director at Espoo-Vantaa Institute of Technology. She has also held expert positions in the European Commission.


Vice Chair of the UEF Board Jaakko Kiander, DSocSc, (born 1963) is Senior Vice President of Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company . Kiander's earlier roles include Senior Economist (1997-1999), Research Director (1999-2006) and Research Professor (2001-2006) positions at VATT Institute for Economic Research, Professor of Economics at the University of Vaasa in 2000, and Director of the Labour Institute for Economic Research in 2006-2010. Kiander is a docent of the University of Eastern Finland and the University of Helsinki. He is also a member of the board of the OP-Pohjola Group Research Foundation.


Tero Karjalainen (born 1971), PhD, works in administrative, research and teaching roles in the Department of Applied Physics at the Kuopio Campus. He has been a member of the Senate of the University of Kuopio and, later, the Board of the University of Eastern Finland since 2004. Having served as a faculty council member, department head and deputy head, he is experienced in academic administration and decision-making. As a visiting researcher in the USA and Canada, he has also gained international experience. He has also been a member of the Board of the Finnish Union of University Researchers and Teachers, and the Vice-President of and the Finnish delegate in the European Council of Doctoral Candidates and Junior Researchers, Eurodoc.


Student of education Jarno Mäki (born 1974) studies in the degree programme in class teacher education at the Savonlinna Campus and in the degree programme in career counselling at the Joensuu Campus. His earlier roles include memberships in, e.g., the University Collegiate Body, the Faculty Council of the Philosophical Faculty, the Steering Committee of the Savonlinna Campus, and the Board of Savonlinna Teacher Training School.


Jussi Pihlajamäki (born 1969), MD, is Professor of Clinical Nutrition at the University of Eastern Finland. He is also the Head of the Clinical Nutrition at Kuopio University Hospital.



Juho Pulkka, MSocSc, BSc (Economics & Business Administration) (born 1990) majors in health economics at the University of Eastern Finland.  He recently obtained a Master's degree in social sciences from the University of Jyväskylä, majoring in social policy. He has studied political science, statistics, sociology, economics, leadership and marketing as minor subjects. He has served in the Executive Board of the Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland in 2014-2015. He served as the vice chair of the Executive Board in 2014, and as the chair in 2015. Pulkka is actively involved in several associations, both at the local and national levels.


Eeva Punta (born 1965), Lic.Phil., is the CEO and main shareholder of Linnunmaa Oy. She is also a board member in three other Finnish companies. Her earlier positions have mainly been in the field of industrial environmental protection, chemical safety and quality management in the European context. She obtained her Master's degree from the University of Kuopio, and her Licentiate degree from the University of Joensuu.


Wille (Vilho) Riekkinen (born 1946), ThD, is an Emeritus Bishop of the Kuopio Diocese. He served as a bishop between 1996 and 2012. His previous positions include Assistant Professor at the University of Helsinki, Teacher in biblical theology at the Institute for Advanced Training of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland, Consultant in bible issues for the World Council of Churches in Geneva, and part-time Professor at the Institute of Theology in Tallinn. He holds a docentship at the University of Helsinki and at the University of Eastern Finland, and he is a member of the Supervisory Board of the Finnish Cultural Foundation and a member of the Board of Directors of Olvi Foundation.


Tomi Rosti (born 1976), MA, works as an Information Specialist at the Joensuu Campus. He is the chair of the Staff Association of the University of Eastern Finland, ISYHY, and a deputy chief shop steward. His other positions of trust include being the vice-chair and a member of the board and the working committee of the Association of Finnish University and Research Establishment Staff, YHL, the regional chair for North Karelia in the Federation of Salaried Employees, Pardia, and a member of the regional committee for North Karelia in the Finnish Confederation of Salaried Employees, STTK.


Matti Tolvanen (born 1956), LLD, is Professor of Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure Law at the University of Eastern Finland. His earlier roles include, among others, Prosecutor and Chief District Prosecutor positions. His main positions of trust include membership in the Board of Adjustment dealing with taxation-related appeals, and he is also the chair of the constituency electoral committee of North Karelia.

Secretary to the Board, Senior General Counsel of the University of Eastern Finland Petri Rintamäki, petri.rintamaki(at)uef.fi.