Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the University of Eastern Finland has been appointed for the term 1 August 2014–31 December 2017. The task of the Advisory Board is to promote interaction and cooperation between the university and its key stakeholders. On one hand, the goal is to make use of external expertise from different fields and, on the other hand, keep important partners informed of the university and its activities.

The Advisory Board includes representatives of public authority, business enterprises and other social influencers. The chair of the Advisory Board is Erkki KM Leppävuori, President of VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland.

The members of the Advisory Board are: Director General Elli Aaltonen, Regional State Administrative Agency for Eastern Finland, Director of Education Leena Auvinen, City of Kuopio, Director General Elias Ekdahl, Geological Survey of Finland; Director General Juhani Eskola, National Institute for Health and Welfare; Vice President of Research and R&D Antti Haapalinna, Orion Oyj; Board Member of European Forest Institute Eeva Hellström, Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra; CEO Silja Huhtiniemi, Kuopio Region Chamber of Commerce; Region Mayor Jussi Huttunen, Regional Council of North Savo; Region Mayor Pentti Hyttinen, Regional Council of North Karelia;  Agronomist Paavo Jauhiainen, Olvi Foundation; Bishop Jari Jolkkonen, Kuopio Diocese; Mayor Kari Karjalainen, City of Joensuu; CEO Petteri Karttunen, Saastamoinen Foundation; Director General Lea Kauppi, Finnish Environment Institute; CEO Tuomo Kauranne, Arbonaut Oy; CEO Mikko Kilpeläinen, Honkarakenne Oy; CEO Juha Kivelä, Pohjois-Karjalan Osuuskauppa; Mayor Janne Laine, City of Savonlinna; Archbishop Leo, Orthodox Church of Finland; President Erkki KM Leppävuori, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland; Region Mayor Pentti Mäkinen, Regional Council of South Savo; President Pertti Nieminen, Court of Appeal of Eastern Finland; Director General Ari Niiranen, Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment for North Karelia; District Director Kari Niskanen, Kesko Eastern Finland; Director Elina Pajula, North Karelian Society for Social Security; Mayor Petteri Paronen, City of Kuopio; Medical Director Jorma Penttinen, Kuopio University Hospital; Designer Ritva-Liisa Pohjalainen;  Director Tomi Salo, Finnish Forest Industries Federation; CEO Timo Veromaa, Biotie Therapies Oyj; Director General Kari Virranta, Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment for North Savo; and CEO Anne Vänskä, North Karelia Chamber of Commerce.  A representative from the Natural Resources Institute Finland will be invited as a member of the Advisory Board later on.

The representatives of the University of Eastern Finland in the Advisory Board are Rector Jukka Mönkkönen, Academic Rector Jaakko Puhakka, Director of Administration Tuomo Meriläinen, and Director of Planning and Development Soili Makkonen, who acts as the secretary to the Advisory Board. The Student Union of the University of Eastern Finland is represented by the chairs of the Representative Council and the Executive Board.