Multimodal neuroimaging

Nowadays functional neuroimaging is becoming more and more important not only in basic neuroscience but also in the clinical field. Brain imaging techniques rely either on the reconstruction of neuronal currents from measurements of the electromagnetic field they generate outside the head, or on the indirect measurement of activity from hemodynamics. Both kinds of techniques have advantages and limitations. It is particularly useful to implement a multimodal approach combining and integrating different techniques such as functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Magnetoencephalography, High Density ElectroEncephaloGraphy, Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation, Near Infrared Spectroscopy. This approach has proven to be extremely powerful in the reconstruction of sources of brain activity and has recently been applied also to the study of brain connectivity, allowing characterizing brain network in the stationary as well as in the dynamic case. Other brain imaging techniques including various hybrid techniques that involve infrared spectroscopy as well as MRI-guided, high-intensity focused ultrasound can be used for bloodless brain surgery. The applicants will have the unique possibility of training and conducting research in the development of novel measuring procedures and data analysis methods for multimodal imaging, and in the clinical applications for instance in the diagnosis and treatment of several serious diseases, such as stroke, epilepsy, Parkinson’s disease, depression and tinnitus.

Research groups involved in this research area are: Institute for Advanced Biomedical Technologies (Gabriele d’Annunzio University of Chieti-Pescara (UDA), Chieti, Italy), Department of Neuroscience and Biomedical Engineering (Aalto University (AALTO), Helsinki, Finland) and Tampere University of Technology (Tampere, Finland).

Supervisors

  • Institute for Advanced Biomedical Technologies (UDA)
    • Professor Gian Luca Romani (gianluca.romani (at) unich.it)
    • Professor Cosimo Del Gratta (cosimo.delgratta (at) unich.it)
    • Professor Vittorio Pizzella (vittorio.pizzella (at) unich.it)
  • Department of Neuroscience and Biomedical Engineering (AALTO)
    • Professor Risto Ilmoniemi (risto.ilmoniemi (at) aalto.fi)
    • Professor Lauri Parkkonen (lauri.parkkonen (at) aalto.fi)
    • Dr. Matti Stenroos (matti.stenroos (at) aalto.fi)
    • Dr. Ilkka Nissilä (ilkka.nissila (at) aalto.fi)
    • Dr. Jaakko Nieminen (jaakko.nieminen (at) aalto.fi)
  • Tampere University of Technology (TUT)
    • Professor Jari Hyttinen (jari.hyttinen (at) tut.fi)
    • Professor Hannu Eskola (hannu.eskola (at) tut.fi)