Ari T. Friberg, PhD, DSc, Professor

Ari T. Friberg, born 1951 in Finland, holds a PhD degree from the University of Rochester, NY, USA and DSc (Tech) from Helsinki University of Technology, where he worked 1983-1996 in various positions, from 1990 on associated with the Academy of Finland. In 1987-88 he was a Royal Society Guest Research Fellow at Imperial College in London, and during 1996 a visiting scientist at Optisches Institute of Technische Universität Berlin. After a brief period as professor of physics in Joensuu, Finland, he then was appointed in 1997 professor of optics at Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in Stockholm, Sweden. Following 6 months' visits at the Institute of Optics in Rochester and at the University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland, he became Finland Distinguished Professor (FiDiPro, Academy of Finland) at Aalto University in Espoo and the University of Eastern Finland in Joensuu. From the beginning of 2013 on he has been full-time professor of physics in Joensuu.

Dr. Friberg's main research interests are in optical physics, electromagnetic optics, and nanophotonics. In these areas he has authored or co-authored about 250 refereed journal papers, presented some 300 international conference reports, and edited two books. He has supervised over 20 PhD students in Finland and Sweden. He has been topical editor of JOSA A, reviewer and editorial board member of many journals, and evaluator of international projects. He is a Fellow of OSA and SPIE and a Senior Member of IEEE.

Dr. Friberg was a founding member and the first President of the Finnish Optical Society and served on the Board of the European and Swedish Optical Societies. For 15 years he was on the Executive Committee of the International Commission for Optics (ICO), in 2005-2008 as President. Currently he belongs to the Strategic Long-Range Planning Committee of ICO. He also was for many years involved, as Chair and board member, in Education and Training in Optics and Photonics (ETOP), an international program, run by ICO, OSA. SPIE, and IEEE/LEOS. Since 2005 he is a member of the Board of Stakeholders of the EU Technology Platform Photonics 21.